The difficulty in reinstating your Texas driver license depends on why it is suspended. If there are warrants out or missed court dates, those issues will usually need to be resolved first. After a DWI arrest there usually is a suspension. After that suspension is up, there will need to be a reinstatement fee paid to Texas DPS in Austin.
How do I get my license back after a DWI?
Once a suspension begins a person can be eligible for an Occupational License. This allows a person to drive for essential needs such as work, groceries, school, court dates etc. The length of time of the license depends on the suspension period. The driver will need to pay the $125 reinstatement fee to DPS along with a $10 occupational license fee. At the end of the license suspension the driver will go to the local DPS and get another copy of a Texas driver license.
This is all done through a court with a judge signing off on the Occupational License Order. It is easier with a lawyer who has experience in this matter.
How long is your license suspended for a DWI in Texas?
There are different suspension periods for drivers accused of DUI and DWI in Texas. When a driver is stopped for drinking and driving there is an administrative action separate from the DWI charge in court. The Administrative License Revocation process periods are in the chart below. Keep in mind these are independent from license suspensions that may occur as a result from a conviction in court later.
|Drinking and Driving Accusation
|DUI (driver under 21 only)
|60 day suspension
|DWI arrest with Breath/Blood Consent
|90 day suspension
|DWI arrest with Breath/Blood 2nd Consent in 10 Years
|1 year suspension
|DWI arrest with Breath/Blood Refusal
|180 day suspension
|DWI arrest with Breath/Blood 2nd Refusal in 10 Years
|2 year suspension
Can you get insurance with a suspended license in Texas?
Yes. There is SR-22 insurance for suspended driver license. This is special insurance for a driver while driving with a Texas Occupational Driver License. The SR-22 insurance is designed to keep the state of Texas updated that the vehicle an Occupational licensed driver is driving is insured. The following are the coverage amount minimums for SR-22 insured drivers.
Minimum Liability Amounts
The minimum liability coverage amounts required by law are:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one crash,
- $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one crash, and
- $25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one crash.
Is my driver license suspended?
To check if your driver license is suspended visit this site below and enter the required information https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/dleligibility/login.do